Our Team | Co Cars

Our team

Meet the team behind Co Cars

Mark Hodgson

Mark Hodgson, Managing Director

Mark is the founder and Managing Director of Co Cars and leads on business development with key stakeholders including local authorities, housing developers, large businesses and other organisations. Mark founded Co Cars in 2005 and Co Bikes in 2016 and has extensive knowledge of the shared mobility market. Mark is widely experienced in starting and developing sustainable business enterprises, having worked with multi-nationals and SMEs across the UK and internationally. When he’s not working he can be found outside cycling, walking or travelling.

Ellen Rodger

Ellen Rodger, Operations Director

Ellen looks after the day to day running of our operations across the company. Prior to joining Co Cars, she worked as Head of Marketing for SC Group and before that spent eight years as Operations Director at Exeter based renewable energy company, Sungift Energy. During this time she oversaw the growth of the company to a £10 million+ turnover business. In 2013 she won the South West IOD Young Director of the Year award and in 2015 the South West Inspirational Woman of the Year Venus award.

Des Hannon

Desmond Hannon, Director

Des manages partnerships in a major global financial technology business. He’s interested in market disruption, the sharing economy and sustainable transport. Elected to represent Tiverton on Devon County Council in 2005, he was a senior Cabinet member, standing down in 2017. Des has served at board level at local schools, Exeter Airport, SW Forest, the Innovation Centre, Tiverton Children’s Centre, the Grand Western Canal and the Fire Authority. He holds an MBA alongside numerous professional qualifications. Des is an active Co Cars user having given up personal car ownership in 2016.

Jenny Ryding

Jenny Ryding, Director

Jenny is a highly experienced Finance Project Manager currently working for a public sector body. She is skilled in Analytical Skills, Tax Policy, Government, Management, and Economic Policy with an MA (Oxon) in Politics Philosophy and Economics from University of Oxford. Jenny is also the founder of Co Delivery, Exeter’s electric bike delivery service.

Samantha Peters

Samantha Peters, Director

Samantha is a senior executive with some twenty years’ experience in the health sector, most recently as Chief Executive and Registrar of the General Optical Council. Samantha has an Executive Masters in Business Administration from Cass Business School, where she received a Tallow Chandlers Award for her research on the subject trust and organisational failure. Samantha is current studying altruism at the School of Management at the University of Bath. 

Justin Butt

Justin Butt, Director

Justin is a partner within solicitor Stephen Scown’s energy team. He provides strategic advice on renewable energy projects including: solar, wind, battery storage, electric vehicles, hydro and heat networks.

Stuart Noakes

Stewart Noakes, Director

Stewart is an experienced entrepreneur who has started, grown and run multiple businesses both in the UK and abroad. Adaptable and pragmatic, he is most at home when working with founders of growing businesses, or companies going through a significant transformation.

Stephen Williams

Stephen Williams, Finance Manager

Stephen’s role is the financial management of Co Cars; key to offering a good service to members and enabling business growth. Stephen is an experienced finance manager, with an in-depth understanding of business from his background as a solicitor and property management. Outside work Stephen enjoys cycling and walking around Devon and the UK.

Helen Scholes

Helen Scholes, Marketing Manager

Helen joined Co Cars from Stagecoach where her role included strategic marketing, external partnership development and media relations. Alongside her marketing experience, Helen also understands the importance of robust network planning and stakeholder engagement in order to develop a successful, sustainable transport proposition. Helen is also a Board Director of Exeter Chamber of Commerce.